The Central Province composed of the central Kandyan provinces. an located in the central hills of Sri Lanka and consists of the three Districts KandyMatale and Nuwara Eliya. the land area of the Province is 5674 square kilometers which is 8.6% of the total land area of Sri Lanka. The Province lies on 6.6°-7.7° Northern latitude and between 80.5°-80.9° Eastern longitudes. The elevation in the Province ranges from 600 feet to over 6000 feet  above sea level in the central hills. The Province is bordered by the North Central Province from the North the Mahaweli river and Uma Oya from the east to the south from the mountain range of Adams peak, Kirigalpottha and Thotapala and the mountain ranges Dolosbage and Galagedera from the west

The mean temperature ranges from 16°C - 28°C in the Province where lower temperatures are recorded in hills in the Nuwara Eliya District. In the Central Province 52% of the land has been cultivated while another 6.3% has been identified as lands which can be cultivated. Of the lands cultivated more than 35% has been cultivated with tea while 14.8% has been cultivated with paddy. The percentage of lands cultivated with coconut and rubber is 4.8% and 2.3% respectively.

For the purpose of administration the Central Province has 36 Divisional Secretary areas in the 3 Districts. They are further divided into 2,224 Grama Niladari areas, 5,763 villages and local government bodies comprising 3 municipality council and 6 urban council areas.The Provincial administration is vested in the Central Provincial Council composed of elected representatives of the people, headed by a Governor who is appointed by His Excellency the

President According to the census data 2001 the total population of Central province was 2,418,110 and the estimated population for 2007 was 2,549,917. The annual growth rate for 2007 was 0.9%. The population density for the Central Province was 433 persons per square kilometer. According to the 2001 census data 70.0%, 20.2% and 9.8% of the population were classified as rural, estate and Urban respectively

The districts of the Sri Lanka are divided into administrative sub-units known as divisional secretariats. These were originally based on the feudal counties, the korales and ratas. They were formerly known as 'D.R.O. Divisions' after the 'Divisional Revenue Officer'. Later the D.R.O.s became 'Assistant Government Agents' and the Divisions were known as 'A.G.A. Divisions'. Currently, the divisions are administered by a 'Divisional Secretary' and are known as a 'D.S. Divisions'.

There are 36 divisional secretariats in Central Province, which are listed below, by district. There are 20 in Kandy District, 11 in Matale District and 5 in Nuwara Eliya District.


28 January 2018